In the Latin Rite of the Roman Catholic Church an in Anglican churches, a diocese is an administrative territorial unit administered by a bishop. It is also referred to as a bishopric or Episcopal Area (as in United Methodism) or episcopal see, though strictly the term episcopal see refers to the domain of ecclesiastical authority officially held by the bishop. The diocese is the key geographical unit of authority in the form of church governance known as episcopal polity. In the Roman Catholic Church and the Anglican Communion, an important diocese is called an archdiocese (usually due to size, historical significance, or both), which is governed by an Archbishop, who may be exempt from or have Metropolitan authority over the other ('suffragan') dioceses within a wider jurisdiction called an ecclesiastical province. As of 2003, there are approximately 569 Roman Catholic archdioceses and 2014 dioceses. After the Reformation, the Church of England continued and developed the existing diocesan structure in England. This continued throughout the Anglican Communion. In the Eastern Catholic Churches (which recognise papal authority and so are part of the Roman Catholic Church), the equivalent unit is the Eparchy; the Orthodox Church calls its dioceses Metropoleis.

Trivia about archdiocese

  • Illinois has the Diocese of Peoria, Diocese of Joliet & this of Chicago, headed by cardinal George