The Republic of Cameroon is a unitary republic of central an western Africa. It borders Nigeria to the west; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon's coastline lies on the Bight of Bonny, part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. The country is called "Africa in miniature" for its geological and cultural diversity. Natural features include beaches, deserts, mountains, rainforests, and savannas. The highest point is Mount Cameroon in the southwest, and the largest cities are Douala, Yaoundé, and Garoua. Cameroon is home to over 200 different ethnic and linguistic groups. The country is well known for its native styles of music, particularly makossa and bikutsi, and for its successful national football team. English and French are the official languages.

Trivia about cameroon

  • The name of this central African republic comes from camaroes, a Portuguese word for the prawns found there
  • This country was named for the Camaroes, or shrimp, the Portuguese found in the Wouri River
  • You'll find this country between Cambodia and Canada
  • The name of this African country comes from camaroes, a Portuguese word for shrimp
  • Founded around 1888 during German colonial rule, Yaounde is the bustling capital of this Central African nation
  • Uses the franc as its currency