Honuras (pronounced /hɒnˈd(j)ʊərəs/; in Spanish, República de Honduras Spanish pronunciation: [onˈduɾas]) is a democratic republic in Central America. It was formerly known as Spanish Honduras to differentiate it from British Honduras (now Belize). The country is bordered to the west by Guatemala, to the southwest by El Salvador, to the southeast by Nicaragua, to the south by the Pacific Ocean at the Gulf of Fonseca, and to the north by the Gulf of Honduras, a large inlet of the Caribbean Sea.

Trivia about honduras

  • This Central American country's name means "depths"; it's what Columbus named the region
  • Sand Hour
  • The Gulf of Fonseca is this Central American country's only direct access to the Pacific Ocean
  • Carlos Roberto Flores is the current president of this Central American nation
  • Today it's Belize, but from its colonial days until 1973 it was British this
  • This Central American country is home to the ruins of Copan, one of the Mayan's largest cities
  • This country's only outlet to the Pacific is the Gulf of Fonseca about 60 miles southwest of Tegucigalpa
  • From 1823 to 1838 it was one of the 5 countries that made up the United Provinces of Central America
  • Columbus landed here; the 5 stars represent the federation it was once a part of
  • Tegucigalpa is this Central American country's capital city
  • Army troops seized a pajama-ed Manuel Zelaya, president of this central American nation, & sent him into exile
  • In Central America: Tegucigalpa