the solar system


The Solar System (or Solar system, solar system[a]) consists of the Sun an those celestial objects bound to it by gravity. These objects are the eight planets and their 166 known moons; three dwarf planets and their four known moons; and billions of small bodies, including asteroids, Kuiper belt objects, comets, meteoroids, and interplanetary dust.